October ’08 Wrap Up

October was a decent month for reading, friends, and life in general. Work, not so much, but you can’t have everything. I was surprised at my reading pace this month, especially after the problematic last few. Then again, there’s nothing quite like the onset of a cold fall to keep you in bed curled around a decent novel.

So, here’s the breakdown:

1. Viewpoints Critical by L.E. Modesitt

2. Cally’s War by John Ringo

3. Wellspring of Chaos by L.E. Modesitt

4. The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor

5. Ordermaster by L.E. Modesitt

Number of Pages: 1,992

With almost 1,000 pages over September, I even managed to also squeeze in the 1st volume of Preacher and Batman: The Dark Knight Returns for the Graphic Novels Challenge.

Now, my predictions for November are a bit complicated. On the one hand, I’ve got 4.5 books on my shelf ready and rearing to go. On the other, I’ve joined the few, the proud, the insane. That’s right, this year I’m attempting NANOWRIMO (if you think it sounds like some exotic act of ritual suicide, you’re not far off).

If you haven’t heard, November is National Novel Writing Month (NANOWRIMO). The goal: 50,000 words written in 30 days. Thankfully, I do have a few things going for me: a friend or two participating, a few more backing me, a roommate very willing to be my sounding board, and another with all the technical know-how it’ll take to make me not sound like a moron.

So, while I’ll do what I can to maintain review posting, I get the feeling a few will be pushed back to December. Until then, here’s my badge of honor:

Leave a Reply

