A Midsummer Night’s Challenge

I wanted to celebrate the 1-month mark for A Chain of Letters by hosting a small reading challenge of my own. I’d like to think of it as a thank you to the bloggers out there who have helped me by leading with such strong examples.

June is a special month that marks the half-way point of the year. In much of the world, a prominent part of this comes with the Midsummer celebration centered on the Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year. Conversely, Midsummer’s eve, when much of the celebrating takes place, is the shortest night of the year.

In celebration of Midsummer, I propose this small challenge:

  1. Read A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare. Your copy from High School (if you still have it) is fine.

  2. Then read at least one other book/graphic novel connected to or based on A Midsummer Night’s Dream (possible works listed below).

  3. Blog about this supplementary work, comparing it to the original.

  4. Link to your review here via comment or Mr. Linky (click button for pop-up). I will update the list as often as possible.

The challenge begins June 1st, 2008 and ends with all reviews linked here by June 25th, 2008 (the day after Midsummer Day). That should leave plenty of time for those who find this a little late.

A big thank you to Wendy over at A Novel Challenge for getting the word out.

Here is a short list of possible reads:

Books

The Thyme of the Season by Duncan Pflaster

Magic Street by Orson Scott Card

A Midsummer Night’s Gene by Andrew Hartman

Faerie Tale by Raymond E Feist

Lords and Ladies by Terry Pratchett

The Wizard of London by Mercedes Lackey

Graphic Novels

Sandman: Dream Country by Neil Gaiman

Manga Shakespeare: A Midsummer Night’s Dream illustrated by Kate Brown

Participants

1. Chainletters

2. Dewey

3. Jessi

4. Becky

5. Ian

6. Francesca

I’ve created a few buttons of varying size for those of you who wish to use them. Simply copy+paste the associated html code into your blog. My thanks to Redhedstock, ~Le-Rain, and ~Cosmos-resources from DeviantArt for their amazing photoshop brushes. And many many thanks to Dewey for the text box html.

 

16 responses to “A Midsummer Night’s Challenge

  1. I have a question. I *just* read (as in yesterday) the graphic novel MANGA Shakespeare: A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Can it count towards the challenge so long as I read the original along with it. Or would I need to read something else. Just wondering. It’s your challenge, so I’ll abide by your ruling 🙂 I’m going to hold off on joining until I know one way or the other.

  2. I have a question. I have read A Midsummer Night’s Dream several times and have seen it performed on stage twice. Would it be ok for me to watch a DVD of a performance instead of re-reading it? I’m interested in seeing the 1999 Michael Hoffman version and have it in my queue anyway.

  3. blbooks, If that’s what you want to do, sure. It was only yesterday.

    Dewey, I could never say no to you. You read so much already that if you want to watch a movie instead, I think your eyes would thank you.

    But only Dewey!

  4. What a great idea for a mini-challenge! It’s been a few years since I read A Midsummer Night’s Dream; I’m looking forward to this. 🙂

  5. I’ve officially joined in. If time permits I might read a book or two in the Frewin Jones series featuring Oberon and Titania. They’ve been in my tbr pile for quite a few months. 🙂 But I’ll definitely write up something comparing the graphic novel to the Shakespeare. It really was a fun little book.

  6. What a great challenge! I’ve already over committed myself for the next month, so I won’t be joining officially. I will do this if I can fit it in though. I’ve got the Shakespeare and either Magic Street or Lords and Ladies. Welcome to book blogging!

  7. Great! Well, I’ll still read the Gaiman, of course.

    I love how Becky and I showed up within an hour of each other and made the same exact statement to start off our comments. 🙂

  8. Pingback: May Reading Summary » The Hidden Side of a Leaf

  9. Hi, this is Duncan Pflaster- I found your site when I was googling myself. If anyone would like to read my play The Thyme of the Season (a sequel to A Midsummer Night’s Dream set on Hallowe’en), I’d be glad to e-mail it to them.

  10. Pingback: Midsummer Night’s Dream Challenge Completed « Becky’s Challenges

  11. Pingback: Parole » Midsummer — a wrap up post

  12. Pingback: The Hidden Side of a Leaf » Blog Archive » June Reading Summary

Leave a Reply

